• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

Crossbow folks here?

Rathwulven BC

Extremely Talkative
Hi guys

I am thinking about getting myself a crossbow. The reason: Rifles and other weaponry, in general, are illegal over here in NL (not so the crossbow).

I am curious if you got recommendations or tips for absolute beginners (I shot bows twice, never a crossbow).

Looking forward to your comments. :)

All good for target shooting:thumbsup:.....but I would never hunt with one......even if it were legal here in the U.K.
The only exception being out and out survival needs.........a need that will hopefully never arise:thumbsup:

Hi guys

I am thinking about getting myself a crossbow. The reason: Rifles and other weaponry, in general, are illegal over here in NL (not so the crossbow).

I am curious if you got recommendations or tips for absolute beginners (I shot bows twice, never a crossbow).

Looking forward to your comments. :)

Because you are just starting out in the crossbow world I would recommend something in the range of 100lbs draw to start off with and maybe go with a recurve to keep it simple, when you feel ready to up the game a bit I can recommend the jaguar MK2 175lbs it packs a serious punch for a recurve and will give hours of fun on the target range. Here is a pic of my Jag mk2
IMG_20180109_143128.jpg

As far as I know it is legal to own one there as long as it doesn't look like a replica military assault rifle if you're 18 or over but absolutely illegal to hunt with any air rifle and any person wishing to hunt using a firearm in the Netherlands must pass a course and competency test as well as prove that they have access to land on which to hunt.

Last edited: