• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

Draws in rear of 4x4

edd5322

Extremely Talkative
Guys i been thinking i need some storage in the back of my Navara pick up,had the idea i will put some draws in the floor.Anyone got experience with doing this, i have looked on line and doesnt seem to hard.

Any tips would be grateful

I had a gun safe in the back of an old RangeRover but it was factory fitted, I have no experience of anything like that beyond panaling out a van.
What materials were you planning to use?

Pinterest has some examples some of which have links to suppliers.

Alternatively look at a adventure travel forum such as the HUBB on horizons unlimited.

Cheers 38 will try have a look.
Thats where i got the idea in first place pinterest.

I had a gun safe in the back of an old RangeRover but it was factory fitted, I have no experience of anything like that beyond panaling out a van.
What materials were you planning to use?

Was just thinking MDF or somethink simlar really,doesnt look to hard but people with experience always make things look easy haha

Easy enough to carpet over the MDF afterward with something thin that matches, just to make it look professional. I find it makes the van much quieter.

not bothered about the noise its in the pick up part.

You could look at some of the largely American truck camper websites such as:

http://ourstreamlinedlife.com/truck-camping-platform-2-0/

Rather than the complexity of proper draws you could use long low plastic tubs sized to fit either side of a central supporting strut. It would be cheaper and you could leave stuff packed for different purposes or take the tubs out completely to put other stuff in.