• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

Foraging ID books

stevearno

Slightly Talkative
Hi

I guess this question has been asked a billion times - i done a quick search ( using post title ) but nothing came up .So please forgive me if i am being repetitive

I am a compete novice when it comes to picking and eating wild foods - i guess the most knowledge i have is the plants and tree's you had growing up in the fields .

In recent years I have had this over whelming urged for a camping trip to the Scottish highlands ( roughing it ) and will be looking to go for a week soon ( well not exactly that far - just too a sea loch and still near civilization ). Of course i will have food but i would rather forage or catch it ( fish- taking into account laws of my chosen area )

my main problem is as the title would suggest "Foraging ID books" , there is an abundance of books on amazon and other sites . But what i keep running into via the reviews is lack of colour photo's for the complete novice . Alot of books seem to have no means of identification or just illustrations drawn with crayon according to some reviews

I guess i am looking for everything SEAWEEDS ,hedgerows and flowers and plants via seasons ( the link i seen on this site for seasons is dead for me )

I really don't want to be buying every book under the sun just to try find a starting point book for a novice

so far the books i have come up with or been recommended is the collins gems books and i like the look of this : Edible Seashore: River Cottage Handbook No.5<< but this seems to more a recipe book