• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

Homemade knife

collierboy

Very Addicted
I received an unexpected gift today when a friend of mine's father gave me a knife and sheath
he'd made in his little garden shed. Excellent workmanship and all self taught.

Attachments

• thumbnail_IMG_20220120_182353238.jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_20220120_182353238.jpg
    102.8 KB · Views: 44
I received an unexpected gift today when a friend of mine's father gave me a knife and sheath
he'd made in his little garden shed. Excellent workmanship and all self taught.
That's the kind of thing I wish I could have had the chance to do.
There's nothing better than making an object that tests your patience, ability, and determination.
Well done that man.

That is one lovely hand made knife,last time I had one was in the early 70s and was made by an old African chap in Zambia,he told me the steel came from an old car leaf spring,boy it kept its edge well until some B,stard stole it.

Wow :thumbsup: that is one hell of a knife, looks like the design is based on a Texas skinner đź‘Ť
He has just a tiny shed, a self built gas furnace and uses old steel from leaf springs / old files /saws etc. The swords
he makes are real works of art especially the Katanas. It's a bit of an honour to to receive one of his knives because
they aren't for sale. You say it's based on a Texas Skinner, so I'll call this one the a Clydach Squirrel Skinner.

That is one lovely hand made knife, an old car leaf spring,
Yes it is, I dread to think how many hours it took, but he obviously loves making them. The pic doesn't show it but either side