• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

seeds

edd5322

Extremely Talkative
I have been reading this crops section and im new to all this gardening lark so please forgive the ignorance.I was getting the magazines from shops last year and at the same time saving the seed packs , now im wondering after reading these things if there still going to be ok to plant.

I read a few times that non heerloom seeds wont last longer than a year, is it worth me even trying these ones i kept or just throw them out?

All the seeds i kept are still in there packets untouched

I have been reading this crops section and im new to all this gardening lark so please forgive the ignorance.I was getting the magazines from shops last year and at the same time saving the seed packs , now im wondering after reading these things if there still going to be ok to plant.

I read a few times that non heerloom seeds wont last longer than a year, is it worth me even trying these ones i kept or just throw them out?

All the seeds i kept are still in there packets untouched
If they are sealed in foil pouches inside the packets they should be fine Edd

Depending on the species only a part of them are dying every year, so that round about after 3 years it starts to become ineffective. After 5 to 6 years usually it's game over with the whole package.

Only weeds are surviving far longer.
This is, why I prefere them over vegetables and flowers.
You can get them at garden-desaster.com.

:D

Any seeds kept in dry reasonable conditions will last a few years.