• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

Purchasing Outside Of The UK After Brexit

MickyD

Slightly Talkative
Hi All,

I am new to air pistols and have recently been looking into buying "some more" after I made a couple of purchases from Crawley Surplus Store, and yesterday from Pellpax.

I have read about SWS Sportwaffen Schneider as the place to go, but has anyone had an experience recently, since Jan 1, 2021, buying outside the UK? Any issues with Brexit, taxes, delivery, customs etc?

I've also read some people have had their guns destroyed at customs, even though they are legal to own. Does this still happen?

Thanks

Michael

Hi All,

I am new to air pistols and have recently been looking into buying "some more" after I made a couple of purchases from Crawley Surplus Store, and yesterday from Pellpax.

I have read about SWS Sportwaffen Schneider as the place to go, but has anyone had an experience recently, since Jan 1, 2021, buying outside the UK? Any issues with Brexit, taxes, delivery, customs etc?

I've also read some people have had their guns destroyed at customs, even though they are legal to own. Does this still happen?

Thanks

Michael
Welcome aboard. Why don't you take a minute to introduce yourself in the Welcome section?

I've not heard of any air rifles being destroyed at customs. Post Brexshit, any items over 135€ in value that cross from the UK to the EU or vice-versa are subject to VAT being paid in the sending country in advance, plus any customs duties that the receiving authorities see fit to apply. There may also be a charge from the shipping company, since they have more paperwork to fill out.