• Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to join then please Register

Waterproof Question. Plz Help

Bruce2212

Slightly Talkative
Hi,
I'm new to bushcrafting; great fun and so much to learn (this forums been a great help) but I cant find a waterproof that's durable enough to last around fires, sharp rocks/ branches, carrying around materials and using tools. I've heard Goretex Pro jackets (like the Norrona recon) are durable, breathable and waterproof but they're well above my budget.
I'm looking to be out most weekends and am also starting a forestry degree this September so durability is my main concern. Can anyone recommend a material/ jacket that's mostly durable and waterproof for max £200 (the cheaper the better but I don't mind paying what I can for quality); breathable would be beneficial but I'm not hiking or overly exerting myself and will only use the jacket in heavy rain so it's not a priority.
Thanks in advance.

I am sorry if this might maybe sound a little provocative, don't take it personally as it is not directed against you in person: But if you worry about wear/attrition of your gear, you might as well not go outdoors. Why am I writing this? Gear is meant to be used, hence that over-careful mindset many have in the beginning needs to go (at least in my opinion).

That said: If you are indeed a beginner and have not a lot of budget, high tech gear and clothing simply are not a necessity (yet) in your case. You even write yourself: "It is not a priority" - so my advise is to get out of the "gearslut"-mindset many have and into a "What are necessities in my case?"-mindset. Again, just to be clear: This is my personal philosophy, please do not take it as a personal attack.